These Republicans Voted Against The Funding Bill

Following its earlier passage in the House, the US Senate approved a continuing resolution (CR) on Saturday evening to maintain government funding.

A minority of nine Republican senators opposed the resolution. However, a substantial majority, 88 senators, supported the measure.

Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.) commented post-vote, “The Senate’s bipartisan approach paved the way for the bill we just approved. Our united front demonstrated to the House that action was necessary.”

He added, “The government will remain operational for 45 days with an unmodified CR at the current financial standards. We sidestepped the drastic reductions proposed by some MAGA Republicans.”

President Biden recognized Congress’s efforts in preventing a government shutdown in a statement released after the Senate approved an interim measure.

He emphasized that the situation could have been avoided, pointing out that he and McCarthy had reached a budget agreement several months earlier.

Additionally, he strongly voiced his expectations concerning aid to Ukraine, stating: “Our support for Ukraine must remain uninterrupted. I trust the Speaker to uphold his promise to the Ukrainian people and ensure the necessary aid is passed during this pivotal time.”

Nine Republican senators voted against the CR:

Three of the more well-known members of the Senate who did not favor the bill are Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Sen. Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Sen. Mike Braun (R-Ind.), and Sen. Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.).

Sen. Bill Hagerty, after the vote, posted on X, the rebranded version of Twitter, stating his firm stance against any short-term funding without the inclusion of substantial border-security actions to tackle what he called the “Biden Border crisis.”

He noted on X, “I have dedicatedly pursued this goal, and I am eager to collaborate with my peers over the forthcoming 45 days to achieve this vital objective.”

Two more senators, Sen. Roger Marshall (R-Kan.) and Sen. Mike Lee (R-Utah), cast a negative vote.

In another Saturday night post on X, Sen. Roger Marshall expressed concerns over the CR, highlighting that it fails to address what he perceives as a pressing national security issue: the vulnerable southern border and the influx of fentanyl.

He mentioned his financial concerns, “Given our $33 trillion national debt, it’s evident we can’t maintain these spending rates even for another day, let alone 45 more.”

The final three senators making up the nine are Sen. Eric Schmitt (Mo.), Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.), and Sen. J.D. Vance (R-Ohio).